ADO16 Remote Brake Servo Options

The Home of any non Mini projects & discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
robanzac
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 3:09 am
Location: New Zealand

ADO16 Remote Brake Servo Options

Post by robanzac »

I have a standard 1972 Austin 1300
I see that the GT's run a remote brake servo, mounted behind the battery on the RHS

Is retro fitting a servo into a standard car a worthwhile exercise ?
If it is, what's involved.
What servo unit would be best ? (if originality unimportant)

Ebay and Aliexpress searches often bring up a servo designated LE72969 with a 1.9:1 ratio.
Are these any good?
Rob
1972 Austin 1300
User avatar
mk1
Site Admin
Posts: 16585
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:30 am
Location: York-ish
Contact:

Re: ADO16 Remote Brake Servo Options

Post by mk1 »

I can't really see any issues with running a servo on an ADO16. I don't have one on my MK2 & the brakes are excellent.

Fitting a servo won't make the brakes "better" it will just reduce the pedal pressure needed to stop.

If I was fitting one, I'd use a standard 6" one as fitted to the MK3 Cooper S.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Remote-Brake ... %3A2334524

The above is actually listed for an 1100.
Mark F
General dogsbody.
Post Reply