Shell painting - costs

General Chat with an emphasis on BMC Minis & Other iconic cars of the 1960's. Includes information on MK1 Action days.
Jono

Shell painting - costs

Post by Jono »

Just wanting to sense check, in general terms, what sort of cost range a good standard re paint on a bare Mk1 shell should be?

Assume a completely bare shell, all welding and panel work done - blasted and etch primed with work to be completed including filling, fettling welds, blocking, seam sealing stone chipping and painting in 2 pack then handing bare shell back to customer for building up.

Cheers

Jon

CooperTune

Re: Shell painting - costs

Post by CooperTune »

Not sure my being on this side of the pond will help you. I have been doing shells on a spit since 1990. After returning from military
service in spring of 1974 I met and began working with a one man shop for all my body and paint. We became close friends and
worked together on many projects. I'm so sorry he passed away five years ago and I had to start looking for other options. I'm
located mid Atlantic coast USA. Over the last several years I have contacted and or visited a lot of shops. It seems here and I
have traveled far north and south and it looks like what you are looking for five years back was $5500 US and now if they will even
look at the job prices range from $8000 to $10,000. Reading recently it seems show quality paint and body bare shell will be closer
to $20,000. I no longer offer the service, a customer has to arrange that himself. A recent job I picked up at shop several hundred
miles from my shop is a deep disappointment. The owner arranged and paid before I saw the job. The shop has promised to take care of the runs sags orange peel once I'm done with assembly. So glad I did not arrange the job. Steve (CTR)

mk1
Site Admin

Post by mk1 »

Realistically & depending on exactly how much work is involved you can rely on somewhere between £2,500 & £5,000
Mark F